The Agony of Hoarding


My mother is one of the worst hoarders in recorded history.  Whenever I watch shows on hoarding, there will only be one house involved.  Thanks to inherited wealth, my mother has been able to fill five properties and an unknown number of storage facilities with the flotsam and jetsam of her life.

About polarjud

Scientist. Statistician. Downhill skier. Endurance bicyclist. Lover of foreign films and serious lit. Married father.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Agony of Hoarding

  1. Uwe says:

    It dosn’t happen too often that you post something on your blog, David! 😉

    Are you afraid of accepting her inheritance one day and of having no idea what to do with all the stuff?? That would be my apprehension when being coped with a situation like this…

    Regards from Germany,

    Uwe / (postcard).

    • polarjud says:

      Wow! A response. I did not think anyone followed my blog. Nice to hear from you, Uwe. No, I would hire workers to comb through it and send most of it to the landfill. My agony is that my parents actually have no place to live that is safe for them and want me to help pay taxes and utilities on vacant homes that are used to store old newspapers. This, I refuse to do, but I still feel guilty.

Leave a Reply

